RI Dept of Labor
The Rhode Island Department of Labor (“RI Dept of Labor“) is in charge of managing all unemployment insurance benefit payouts for Rhode Island residents. Unfortunately, Rhode Island law and, in some cases, employees who work at the Rhode Island Department of Labor are not the most friendly or easiest understand when it comes to trying to determine if you qualify for unemployment benefit payouts or not. The goal of this article is to help you know some of your rights under Rhode Island law in regards to unemployment insurance benefits.
Applying For Benefits
The ideal time to file unemployment insurance (“UI”) claims is no later than seven days from the date that you lose your job. Waiting beyond one week after you’ve been laid off puts your risk of having a delay in receiving unemployment payment check. The RI Dept of Labor allows you to apply for compensation benefits either through the Internet or by telephone. The number to call if you wish to apply by telephone is (401) 243-9100. The department generally advises people to avoid applying on Mondays over the telephone, as this is generally the busiest day of their work week.
Information Needed to Apply
Be sure to have the following information handy when you are applying for your unemployment benefits through the RI Dept of Labor:
- Full Legal Name
- Social Security Number
- Your Contact Information (current address and phone number)
- The Contact Information For All Employers Over the Past Two Years
- Alien Registration Number (if you are not a United States citizen)
Eligibility For Benefits
The key eligibility requirement individuals must meet in order to have their UI claims approved is the minimum earnings amount. In general, you must never at least $8880 during what is known as your “Base Period”. The “Base Period” is defined as the previous four calendar quarters excluding the current quarter you were in. This eligibility requirement can change a few file previous unemployment claims with the state of Rhode Island. Additionally if you will earn at least $8880 during your Base Period you may still receive unemployment compensation if the following three conditions are all met:
- You received at least $1480 in compensation in at least one quarter during your Base Period
- The wages you earned during your Base Period equal at least 1.5 times the amount you earned in the Base Period quarter that had the highest amount of earnings
- You received at least a total compensation amount of $2960 during the Base Period.
If your claim is approved by the RI Dept of Labor, the amount you are entitled to receive rents are attractive to the date you submitted your claim application. The claim starts on the Sunday of the week in which you submitted your application if you become completely unemployed or you are employed on a part-time basis and earn less than the amount of money you are scheduled to receive after being approved for unemployment compensation. In general most successful applicants begin receiving their checks by the third week after they have become unemployed. Remember, after you have begun to receive your benefits, that it is important to ask yourself the question “Is Unemployment Taxable?” and prepare yourself so that you don’t run afoul of tax laws, both federal and state.
- NCESC NCESC The North Carolina Employment Security Commission (also known as...